Setup/Installation help

Good evening all. Trying to use pylinac to do WL tests. As a newbie, I cannot seem to get it to run. I believe I got everything installed. Any advice or help would be great. When I try to run the script, I get an import error.
Thanks

Hi,

could you be a bit more precise? What operating system do you use? What Python environment did you install? What is the exact error you get?

For example I am using windows here at work, and downloaded the full winpython package. (The latest Version can be downloaded here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/winpython/files/WinPython_3.10/3.10.8.0/Winpython64-3.10.8.0.exe/download )

After extracting the files all I had to do to install pylinac was open the WinPython Command Prompt.exe and type “pip install pylinac”.
(if you are behind a proxy you might have to set an environment variable for that: set HTTPS_PROXY=http://yourproxy:8080)

For a simple test you could open the IPython Qt Console.exe and type:
import pylinac
pylinac.DRMLC.run_demo()

I hope that helps
Thomas

Thanks.

I’ve installed both anacona and python 3.8 (started with 3.11 but some of the dependencies not install)…using windows 11. with both programs, the pip install runs fine. Running now just says all says requirement is satisfied

If I try to type import pylinac from either CMD or powershell promt and get errors about it not knowing what “import is” See Below.

I’ll try the program you are using and see if I get a different result.

Thanks,
Steve

(base) C:\Users\Caitlin\Desktop\Pylinac\pylinac-qatrackplus-master\pylinac>install pylinac
‘install’ is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

or

(base) PS C:\Users\Caitlin\Desktop\Pylinac\pylinac-qatrackplus-master\pylinac> import pylinac
import : The term ‘import’ is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the